< Back to listings

Spitalfields Music Festival: Her Ensemble

Sat 2 Jul

Artist Info

Artist & Event Info

Her Ensemble come to Village Underground, as part of Spitalfields Music Festival, for their performance highlighting a repertoire of classical music by women.

Founded just over a year ago, Her Ensemble was established to shine a light on the overlooked canon of music written by women over the last thousand years.

The UK’s first orchestra for marginalised genders features today’s most talented young musicians and guest artists. The programme for this event, titled Nevertheless, She Persisted, highlights glorious music by women, which even today makes up only 5% of the repertoire played by classical musicians each year. Works will include:

  • Dobrinka Tabakova – Dawn
  • Leokadiya Kashperova – 6 miniatures, arranged for string orchestra by Ellie Consta
  • Grażyna Bacewicz – Quartet for 4 violins, 1st mvt
  • Barbara Strozzi – Il Lamento (with CN Lester)
  • BISHI – Saturday’s Child

16+ Each under 18 must be accompanied by a responsible adult (1:1 ratio). In order to verify your age, ID may be requested. For this reason, we advise that all customers bring valid ID. For further information see Age and ID in FAQ’s
Right of admission reserved.

18:00 – 21:00

By continuing to use villageunderground.co.uk you agree to our use of cookies. For more details about cookies and how to manage them, check out our terms & conditions.